Bali Musings Day 2 | Travel

Today was going to be a good day. I could feel it in my bones. As I woke up this morning, two hours after I normally do because my phone died which meant to alarm, I prayed to God to give me the strength I needed to get through the day. I’ve been doing that a lot lately, asking for strength. Sometimes I get what I need and sometimes I feel like I’m lacking. But I’ll get through. I always do. Shuffling  toward  my desk I start my routine: eat breakfast while doing a school lesson, cram in as much as I can before we go off on an adventure for the day, and then have some free time. Today, I decided to practice some lettering. I bought my iPad Pro with the salary I earned last year, and felt a sense of pride in buying something for myself on my own.

Hours later, we head off to lunch to one of our favorite Chinese restaurants, Haishen. You know it’s the real deal just by looking at all the Chinese tour buses parked in the front. After we finished, we went to Kuta aka the tourist hot spot. Kuta is relatively known for partying etc., during the night, but during the day it’s like anything else in Bali- beautiful. We were meant to meet with one of our family friends who we call Opa… well, for anonymity, let’s call him Opa Gabe. Opa means grandfather in Indonesian, but it’s also Dutch, because Indonesia was a Dutch colony for over a hundred years. Opa Gabe has been a blessing to our family ever since he stepped into my parents’ café asking for chicken soup. (My mom and sister make the best chicken noodle soup). He saw me studying and asked me what I was doing, where I was from, etc. Turns out, he was familiar with the curriculum I use and that peaked my mother’s attention. They talked and talked, and now, we meet him at least twice a year when he’s in town. We arrived at Lippo Mall Kuta early, in fear of traffic making us late. My mother settled in Maxx Coffee trying to get some work done, while my sisters and I wandered around the mall trying to find a birthday present for a friend who’s party was in a few days. Circling the small mall twice and finding nothing, we went back to the café and found Opa Gabe sitting there. We talked and caught up with each other, while I soaked up any wisdom Opa Gabe will give.

It’s hard for us, but it isn’t hard for God.

The next place you move, you’ll love it. Remember that.

When it comes to relationships, you’re like a zipper. You open yourself up and then close back up. Be careful with how often you do that because your zipper can break. Make sure you’re opening up to the right person.

Be like a turtle, hard on the outside but soft on the inside.

After a quick dinner at Cosmic Burger Diner, we left the mall feeling refreshed and happy. We dropped Opa Gabe off to his hotel and we went grocery shopping at Carrefour to pick up anything we couldn’t find yesterday. You can never just shop at one place in Bali. Every store is just always missing that one important thing you need.

It was already late when we got home, and I went to sleep feeling more happy and hopeful than I had in a while.



 

Hello, friends! Here’s Day 2 of my time in Bali. I hope you enjoyed! I forgot to take pictures today (wow, expert blogger right here!) I hope you don’t mind.

Have a great day, and I’ll see you tomorrow!

love, jane. aka the unlost wanderer.

facebook | twitter | pinterest | goodreads | instagram | bloglovin

Leave a Reply

