Vegan Banana Cake | Jane Bakes (+ Meet My Sisters!)

Hey everyone! Today my sisters and I decided to make a banana cake. But not just any banana cake, a vegan banana cake.

I realized I haven’t properly introduced my sisters so I thought I’d do it in this post.

My sisters and I are all three years apart, and it’s actually pretty funny, how many times the number three pops up in our lives. I guess you can say that it’s our lucky number.

I am the oldest of the three at age 17, my birthday was actually two days ago! Christella comes in second at age 13, turning 14 next month. We usually just call her “Elle” or “Ella” for short. And last but not least, Faith comes in third at age 10, she turns 11 in October. Her favorite saying is “the third times a charm!” *shakes my head*

Elle can’t eat eggs for the next three months but has been craving cake, so Faith and I decided on a egg-less banana cake. The recipe I found was actually a vegan cake, but we had all the ingredients and thought, “why not?”.

I found this recipe on Blend with Spices, and as always, lessened the sugar so if you want to check out the original recipe, click here! This is the first vegan thing we’ve ever made and I was surprised to find how good it was.

We also had triple the bananas the recipe calls for, and so we tripled the recipe. It made two larger cakes instead of the one from the original recipe.

Also, my sisters baked this cake all by themselves. I only read them the instructions.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups AP flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 + 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 1/4 cups mashed bananas (about 6 ripe bananas)
  • 6 tbsp sugar
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Note: ripe bananas can be really sweet so add sugar to taste!

Method:

  1. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder and soda.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the mashed bananas, oil, sugar and vanilla. Once combined, fold in the dry ingredients.
  3. Place in your desired cake tin and bake at 170 degrees Celsius/340 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes.
  4. Cool and Enjoy!

See? Simple as that!  If you decide to make this recipe, let me know how you like it!

File_008

love, jane. aka the unlost wanderer.

facebook | twitter | pinterest | goodreads | instagram | bloglovin

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Banana Cake | Jane Bakes (+ Meet My Sisters!)

Leave a Reply

