A Court of Thorns and Roses Series|Book Nook Review (Contains Spoilers)

A Court of Thorns and Roses | A Court of Mist and Fury | A Court of Wings and Ruin

ACOTAR graphic 1

THIS SERIES. THIS SERIES HAS HONESTLY RUINED ME. OH MY FREAKING GOODNESS.

*takes a deep breath* Okay. *takes another deep breath*

Okay, I’m good. I can now talk about this book series without freaking out. Maybe.

Anyways, there are three books to the series so far, and you can click the links above to read the synopsis for each book. A Court of Wings and Ruin is my favorite book by far. You spend the first two books getting to know the characters, their  back stories, their characters and just getting attached to them in general. The first book is kinda like starting a new weird habit, by the second you’re addicted, and by the third, you try to quit but you’re just too far gone.

Feyre is dragged into the world of faeries and magic when she unknowingly kills a faerie who belongs to the Spring Court. There are seven courts in Prythian, the kingdom who holds all seven courts: Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter, Day, Dawn, and Night.

prythian

Here’s where the spoilers come, so if you don’t want those, stop reading this and read the books!!


 

Okay, in the first book, Feyre, (read Fay-ruh), is ripped away from her family, who she has been taking care of for the past five years, (never mind that she’s the youngest of all of them,) and is shipped off to the Spring Court in Prythian. Tamlin, the High Lord of the Spring Court is happy to have her, even though he does have some weird moments. I wasn’t really shocked when he became known as Tamlin the Tool in the AOTAR fandom. Nevertheless, Feyre falls in love with Tamlin and in turn, saves the entire Spring Court. Getting the Beauty and the Beast vibes, yet? Just wait. The plot twist, although many can see it coming, shocked me so much anyways in the following book. I admit I have a soft spot for Lucien, Tamlin’s right hand man. Although he was rude to Feyre in the beginning, he sort of comes through during the months Feyre was Under the Mountain. Which leads me to my next point.

Rhysand.

Oh, Rhys. High Lord of the Night Court and ultimate swoon-worthy material. Even if he was a jerk in ACOTAR. I knew from the moment Feyre laid eyes on him that he was the one she’d end up with. Screw Tamlin and his fancy flowers. Rhysand, though he acts rude and tough on the outside, hides a soft spot for the people of his court and his inner circle: Cassian, Azriel, Morrigan, and Amren. I loved these characters. I love how they all work together so well, and that with Rhys, they are all treated with a sense of equality. We get to know them a lot more in the second and third book. Mor and Amren are a couple of my favorite characters because we get to see strong female characters. They’re Rhysand’s second and third and I love that. Both are a force to be reckoned with and are willing to fight with everything they are for their court and the people they love. I absolutely loved the dynamic Cassian, Azriel and Rhys have. Thier brotherhood is something that needs to be protected. If anything else happens to Cassian and Azriel, I have no idea what I’d do.

ACOTAR graphic 3
Feyre and Rhysand

Amarantha. Ugh. I’m not going to even start about Amarantha. Just know that she is not very nice. To say it lightly. Jurien. I still have mixed feelings about Jurien, so I won’t start about him too.

Elain and Nesta. Aka Feyre’s sisters. I have a soft spot for these two as well, probably because they remind me of my own sisters. Minus Nesta’s personality, though I do admire the fire she possesses. Elain has this purity and innocence about her that just has to be protected.

Feyre, herself. Feyre, so brave and good. Her compassion sets her apart from the other characters in the books. She has dealt with so much, and overcame so much. She was willing to fight for the Spring Court, the Night Court and all of Prythian even though she was cast into this magical world so very recently.

The plot and subplots are so intricately intertwined that I had trouble keeping up with everything because I got too excited. And oh, my goodness. A Court of Wings and Ruin had me so caught up that I found myself squealing and gasping and banging my head on the wall. I think my family was worried. Chapter 71, page 632 to be exact, was so mindblowing that  I had to put the book down, walk out of the room and bury my head in my pillow.

Needless to say, this series is the best book series I’ve read in a while. I have to admit, there are some more *cough* intimate *cough* moments between Feyre and some male characters, but I found that those moments are mostly toward the ends of the chapters so if you skip to the beginning of the next chapter, you wouldn’t miss anything.

Give this series a read. It’s totally worth it. And if you have read it, what do you think about this series?

love, jane. aka the unlost wanderer.

facebook | twitter | pinterest | goodreads | instagram | bloglovin

ACOTAR graphic 2

5 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses Series|Book Nook Review (Contains Spoilers)

Leave a Reply

