Let Go and Let God.

Have you ever heard that term? Let go and let God? I have. A ton. And I’m starting to think that that is easier said than done. You see, I grew up in a Christian family, I went to church pretty much every Sunday (except for the period of time when we were in-between churches,) and I’m active in both my church and youth group. I’ve listened to the bible stories in Sunday School, I’ve paid attention to the sermons, and I’ve sung the songs, but it always seemed like something was holding me back. I don’t have a super inspiring testimony, which is okay, don’t get me wrong, but there is always that one question in the back of my mind that never goes away: why do I feel like there’s a void between me and God?

I was talking to my friend the other day and he said to me: “I haven’t really given up everything for God.. I want to glorify His name and do everything according to His purpose. If God’s path is adventurous and challenging against the world, I’ll go for it.” 

That got me thinking. I was holding me back. I haven’t given all of myself to God. I realized that I was scared of giving up control of my life, which is silly, because how can you control life? This isn’t a healthy way to live. Being a “control freak” isn’t going to help anything, so why not just go with the flow?

So starting right here, right now, I’m giving up 100% of me. Starting now, my priorities are going to change. No more of school first or family first. I’m putting God first, and it’s going to change everything.  Right now, I’m letting go and letting God.

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

love, jane. aka the unlost wanderer.

twitter | pinterest | goodreads | instagram | bloglovin

Leave a Reply

